Sections available in this document:
- Services, Incidents, and Responders
- Status Pages, Service Subscriptions, and Stakeholders
- Incident Command Center (ICC)
Resolved is similar to Closed, meaning that the issue is no longer active and the service is restored. Between Resolved and Closed states, the organization may perform post-incident activities and once the process is complete incident can be closed. A resolved incident can be reopened, but if the incident is closed, it cannot be reopened.
When an incident is created, the system automatically creates Responder Alerts for each of the Responder Teams of the service so that they would get notified through these alerts and start working on the incident. The Responder Alerts are listed in the Responders tab in the Incident Details view. You can navigate to the Responder Alerts’ details by clicking on them.
If an alert is processed by one of the Incident Rules and creates an incident, or matches to an existing incident, this alert would be rolled up under the incident, i.e, becomes an associated alert to the incident. These alerts would show up under the Associated Alerts tab in the Incident Details. You can also associate alerts by selecting them from the Alerts page and clicking Incident Options button on the left-hand side. Once you are in the Incident Details, you can navigate to the Associated Alerts’ details by clicking on them.
When an incident is resolved, all of its Responder Alerts are automatically acknowledged. If the incident is reopened, then all of the Responder Alerts would be unacknowledged. When the incident is closed, all of its Responder Alerts are automatically closed.
Resolving, reopening or closing an incident does not affect the state of the Associated Alerts.
All of the Responder Teams can view the Incident itself, but only the owner team can take actions on the incident. You can add teams to the incident by executing the ‘Add Responder’ action, and once a team is added as a Responder, they would receive their own Responder Alert for the incident which they can work on, and they can view the incident by navigating to the incident from the Responder Alert.
Notifications for the incidents are being sent via the Responder Alerts created for each Responder Team. You can use filters in your notification rules to target these alerts.
A user can unsubscribe from a Service only. If a responder team/user needs to be removed from an incident, this can be done by executing the ‘Remove Responder’ action on the incident and selecting the related Responder to remove.
No, any user that has a Responder type role (User, Admin, Owner) can be added as an individual Responder.
All of the Incident Owner Team members + Account Owners + Global Admins can execute actions on an incident. Other Responder Team members can see incidents but cannot execute any actions.
Opsgenie users who have the role Stakeholder or above can be included as a Stakeholder to an incident.
For incident actions (like resolve, close etc), Stakeholders do not receive any notification.
Status Pages are not updated for incident actions (like resolve, close etc.).
Only the users added to the Opsgenie account can view the Status Pages (Observers, Stakeholders, and Responder roles).
No, the Service Status Pages are not in sync with other Status Page integrations. You can use existing Status Page integrations to send the Responder Alerts/Incidents to the external Status Pages.
Opsgenie users who have the role Stakeholder or above can subscribe to Services.
Subscribers of a service receive Stakeholder Notifications when an Incident happens in that service. They also receive Status Update messages.
Stakeholders can only follow the Service Status Pages for the incident details.
Yes, in order to send Stakeholder Notifications, each Stakeholder user needs to be added to your Opsgenie account and require a license. The license structure for Stakeholders is different than regular Responder roles. Please contact our Customer Success team for further details.
Stakeholder role can be used for the users who would just need to be notified for the ongoing IT incidents and need to follow their status. Stakeholders can get Stakeholder Notifications for the IT incidents and receive status updates for these incidents.
Observer role can be used for the users who require to be notified manually for the events which do not necessarily need to be related to IT incidents (snow day notifications etc.). Observer users can only get notified via Mass Notifications. They cannot be notified for the IT incidents or their status updates. Detailed permissions for each role can be found here.
Observer role and Mass Notifications feature are only available for old plan customers who subscribed to Opsgenie before November 2, 2018.
Only responder users (Users, Admins, and Owners) can use the ICC. Stakeholders are not able to join the sessions.
Once an ICC session is ended on the Incident, you can always start another one. Multiple sessions on one Incident simultaneously is not supported.
Yes, you can use the same room simultaneously for multiple incidents. It creates different sessions for each incident.
Yes, a team can have multiple Conference Rooms that can be defined from the Team’s Dashboard.
The limit of participants per session is 50.
You can view the ICC session related analytics from the Incident Command Center menu, Past Sessions tab. Each session’s reports can be found by simply clicking on the related session.
Our mobile app supports joining the ICC sessions. You can navigate to your Responder Alert/Incident and join the ICC session from there, or simply click on the Session Start push notification sent via the app.
Yes, you can dismiss a joined participant by clicking on the participant’s name on the Joined list and clicking the Settings button where Dismiss action is available.
Updated almost 3 years ago