User Roles

The authority of the users in OpsGenie are defined by the User Roles. In other words, what a user can or can not do in OpsGenie is decided according to the role of the user.


Default User Roles

OpsGenie provides 4 default roles that can be assigned to users:

The limit to the number of owners, admins and default users is defined according to the subscription plan and these roles are available to all accounts. On the other hand, observer role is available only if the account is granted with Mass Notification.

User Right Owner Admin Default User Observer
Manage Subscription
Manage Roles
Manage All Users*
Access/Create/Edit/Delete All Configurations**
Display All On-Call Users
Access All Alerts
Delete Alerts
Manage Account Settings***
Access Reporting
Access Account Logs
Create Alerts
Perform Alert Actions
Manage Own Notification Rules
Manage Own Quiet Hours and Mute
Receive Alert Notifications
Manage Own Profile Settings
Manage Own Contacts
* Including notification preferences, contacts, quiet hours and mute state
** Teams, Escalation, Schedules, Integrations, Policies, Maintenance, Heartbeats, Central Notification Templates
*** Account Time Zone, Account Locale, Security Settings, Single Sign-On
Owner

Owners are the users that have the account ownership. Each account should have at least 1 owner and can have at most 2 owners. Owners are able to manage the account subscription settings. Furthermore, OpsGenie sends subscription and payment related update e-mails to account owners.

OpsGenie assigns account ownership to the user that signs up for an OpsGenie account automatically. After then, only owners can manage assigning owner role.

Admin

Admins are able to manage any kind of account setting, configuration and users (except owners). However, admins can not manage account subscription settings. There is no limit to the number of admins that an account can have.

Default User

Default users can only access the configurations that they're part of, and they can only access the alerts that they're granted with visibility. In other words, default users can manage the settings that will only effect themselves.

Observer

Observers are only able to manage their own profile settings and contacts. Observers can be considered as read-only users and they can receive notifications only for the mass events. Because they can't receive alert notifications, an observer user can not be a part of a team, an escalation or a schedule. To learn more about the pricing and the limitations of observers, please contact us.

Custom User Roles

You can customize the capabilities of the users in OpsGenie by granting or disgranting the user rights of your choice using Custom User Roles. Please note: that custom user roles are only available for Enterprise Plan.

The following table shows the user rights that can be customized via custom roles:

User Right Description
Read Only Admin Right Read-only access to all configurations and settings that an Admin can access.
Edit Configuration Ability to access and edit all configurations and settings that Admins are capable of (except maintenance and managing roles).
Delete Configuration Ability to delete all configurations and settings (except custom user roles and maintenance).
Access to Logs Page Ability to access account logs via Logs Page.
Access to Reports Ability to access Reports page.
Edit Contacts Ability to add, edit and delete own contacts.
Edit Custom Profile Fields Ability to edit profile tags and custom properties.
Edit Notification Rules Ability to add, edit and delete own notification rules.
Edit Profile Ability to edit own time zone, locale, username, etc.
Edit Quiet Hours Ability to edit quiet hours settings.
Manage Billing Ability to manage subscription settings of the account.
See All Alerts Ability to see all alerts, even if the user were not notified or granted with visibility.
Update Maintenance Ability to update the already created/planned Maintenance Policies.
Who Is On-Call - Show All Ability to display on-call users of all schedules, even if the user is not a part of them.
Create Alert Ability to create a new alert.
Acknowledge Alert Ability to acknowledge an alert that is visible to the user.
Close Alert Ability to close an alert that is visible to the user.
Add Note to Alert Ability to add note to an alert that is visible to the user.
Delete Alert Ability to delete an alert that is visible to the user.
Attach to Alert Ability to add a file as an attachment to an alert that is visible to the user.
Delete Attachment from Alert Ability to delete an attachment from an alert that is visible to the user.
UnAcknowledge Alert Ability to unacknowledge an alert that is visible to the user.
Snooze Ability to snooze an alert that is visible to the user.
Escalate to Next Ability to escalate an alert that is visible to the user to next level.
Take Ownership Ability to take ownership of an alert that is visible to the user.
Assign Ability to assign an alert that is visible to the user to another user.
Add Recipient Ability to add a new recipient to an alert that is visible to the user.
Add Team Ability to add a new team to an alert that is visible to the user.
Edit Tags Ability to add a new tag to or to remove an existing tag from an alert that is visible to the user.
Edit Details Ability to add a new detail to or remove an existing detail from an alert that is visible to the user.
Edit Details Ability to add a new detail to or remove an existing detail from an alert that is visible to the user.
Execute Custom Actions Ability to execute custom actions on an alert that is visible to the user.
Acknowledge All Ability to execute Acknowledge All action on the alerts that are visible to the user.
Close All Ability to execute Close All action on the alerts that are visible to the user.
Creating New Custom User Roles

When you switch to the Roles segment in the Users page, existing custom roles will be listed. To create a new custom role:

  1. Click the Add Role button in the top middle of the page.
  2. If Observer role is available to your account, select a default role as the base role to extend. If not, base role will automatically be assigned as Default User role.
  3. Write a name for the custom role into the Role name field.
  4. Tick the user rights that you want to grant the users with this role, and un-tick the user rights that you want to prevent the users with this role.
  5. Click the Add button to save the custom role.
If you select Observer role as the base role, only Edit Contacts, Edit Custom Profile Fields and Edit Profile user rights will be available to customize.
Editing or Deleting User Roles

When you mouse-over an existing custom role in the list, Delete and Edit actions will be available.

Team Specific Roles

In addition to the user roles that are applied all across the account, there are also team specific roles that are applied only across the team that the user is assigned for. Team specific roles can grant a user with additional team-related user rights. There are two team specific roles:

  • Team Admin
  • Team Member
Team Related Right Team Admin Team Member
Add / Remove Team Members
Access and Manage All Team Members' Profiles
Create/Edit/Delete Routing Rules of the Team
Create/Edit/Delete Escalations for the Team
Create/Edit/Delete Schedules for the Team
Create/Edit/Delete Integrations for the Team
Access Team's Dashboard
Access Escalations, Schedules and Integrations of the Team
Access All Alerts of the Team
When a team admin without global Edit Configuration user right creates a new escalation, schedule or integration, created configuration will automatically be assigned to the team that the user is admin for. You can refer Teams and Team Segmentation for further information about the teams and their configurations.