When multiple users or a group (with multiple users as members) are specified as the recipients of an alert, OpsGenie notifies each user at the same time according to their notification preferences. However, notifying users in a desired order is required on most cases, instead of notifying all of them at once. Escalations are used to notify the recipients of its each rule according to the given order and timeline to meet this requirement. After an escalation was added as a recipient to an alert, the escalation rules will notify their recipients when the specified time is over and the state of the alert meets the specified condition.
Each escalation rule can have one of the following as its recipient:
- A single user
- A group
- A team (Please note: that if the escalation rule is configured to have a team as its recipient, routing rules of the specified team will be applied while determining notification targets).
- All members of a team
- On-call members of a schedule
- Next on-call member of a schedule
- Previous on-call member of a schedule
While adding rules to an escalation, a condition for the rule to notify its recipient should be specified. Each rule can have one of the following as its notify condition:
- Alert is not acknowledged
- Alert is not closed
If an alert is either acknowledged or closed when the time comes for an escalation rule with condition alert is not acknowledged, the recipient of this rule will not be notified. On the other hand, if an alert is closed when the time comes for an escalation rule with condition alert is not closed, the recipient of this rule will not be notified.
The following is an example escalation setup:
Escalations also have an option of repeating. When the time for the last escalation rule passes, the escalation policy will be executed from scratch after the time for repeating (if one is specified) passes.
If the option of Revert acknowledge and seen states back on each repeat turn is selected, all states of the alert that prevents a recipient from being notified will be reverted while an escalation is repeating and the alert is still open. In other words, even if the alert is acknowledged or a recipient from an escalation displayed the details of the alert via any of the OpsGenie apps, the recipients of the escalation rules will be notified on the next repeat turn.
If the option of If escalation repeats are completed, close the alert automatically is selected, the escalation will automatically close the alert in case the repeats are completed (even if the alert is acknowledged).
- An escalation can be configured to repeat at most 20 times for a single alert.
When the recipients field of an alert is set to an escalation policy, OpsGenie uses that escalation policy to determine who should be notified when (in what order). OpsGenie escalations can be defined via the Escalations Page or Escalation API. In addition, a default team escalation policy is created automatically for each team. When a team is added to an alert, the escalation policy of the team is used to determine who should be notified, and when. The following is an example escalation of a team:
The default team escalation policy is a good example to understand escalations. Using this escalation policy, OpsGenie will first send notifications to the on-call user(s) based on the on-call schedule. On the example above, on-call users can view and acknowledge/close the alert. If/when the alert is acknowledged or closed, escalation policy stops. If the alert is NOT acknowledged or closed after 5 minutes, then OpsGenie will execute the second escalation step and notify the next user on rotation. Finally, if the alert is still not acknowledged or closed after 10 minutes, the third escalation step is executed and all members of the team are notified.