Central Notification Templates

Central Notification Templates provide the ability to define shared notification settings that are managed from a single place and can be assigned to user roles. While sending an alert or schedule notification to a user, Opsgenie obeys the defined notification rules within the central notification template.

If there is not any enabled central notification template to apply for a user's role, his/her own notification rules take effect instead.

Define as many central notification templates as desired, however, multiple central notification templates cannot be applied for the same user role. In other words, there can be at most one central notification template for a single user role. Users with roles that have an enabled central notification template cannot edit or modify their notification rules that are enforced for them by the central template. However, they can still edit their own contacts.

For the notification rules of a central notification template, the same classification and principles with the User Notification Settings Setting take effect, excluding the following restrictions:

  • Schedule Start and Schedule End notification events cannot be restricted to specific schedules.

Only Owner and Admin users can create and configure Central Notification Templates.

How to Create and Configure a Central Notification Template

Central Notification Templates are available within the Settings->Central Notification Templates page. Open the Central Notification Templates to find the list of current templates.

Click Add Central Template (or Click here if no templates exist) to define a name and the list of user roles to apply the template for. Reminder: These settings can be edited at any time.

Click Save to save the central notification template as disabled. An automatic re-direct occurs to the details of the central template just added.

Find the notification rules on this page that are defined for the current central notification template. When a central notification template is added, Opsgenie provides default notification rules for each notification type to either continue using or edit any time.

The details page has the same look and experience. Select a contact method and the contact order instead of the exact contact address while defining a notification rule step. While sending a notification, Opsgenie matches the appropriate contact whose definition is provided within the central notification rule step.

While sending a notification to a matched user according to a central notification template:
If the user does not have an enabled contact with the provided method, the notification is not sent.

  • If the user has two contact addresses with the provided method and the contact order is First, the first of the two contacts is used. Similarly, if the contact order within the rule step template is Second and the user has two contact addresses, the second of the two contacts is used.
  • If the user has only one contact address with the provided method but the contact order is Second, the only existing contact is used instead while sending notification instead of skipping.

Complete the configuration of notification rules of the central notification template, then navigate back to the Settings->Central Notification Templates page to enable the setting as shown below:

Please note that the matching users receive notifications according to the rules configured within the central notification template as soon as enabled.

How Users See the Defined Central Template Rules

If there is an enabled central notification template for a user, Opsgenie matches the rule templates with the existing enabled contacts of the user and displays them accordingly. The user is not able to edit/delete these rules and also is not able to add a new rule or rule step anyway.

If the user does not have an enabled contact although the central notification template requires her/him to have one, Opsgenie displays a warning accordingly.

If a notification rule step can not be applied to the user because of a missing/disabled contact, the violated central rule step is also displayed to user.