When an alert is created, OpsGenie answers the question “Who should be notified?” according to the recipients and teams fields of the alert. While only existing teams can be given to teams field, recipients field can be any of the following:
- A single user
- Group: When a group is specified for the recipients field, all member users of the group are added as a recipient to the alert.
- Escalation: When an escalation is specified for the recipients field, the corresponding users within the escalation will be added as recipients to the alert when the specified time for its rules come. An escalation can be specified for recipients field even if the escalation belongs to a team.
- Schedule: When a schedule is specified for the recipients field, the on-call users of the schedule will be added as recipients to the alert. A schedule can be specified for recipients field even if the schedule belongs to a team.
- If the reserved word all is specified for the recipients field, all users within your organization will be added as recipients to the alert.
- Specifying the reserved word none prevents any user within your organization from being notified.
Recipients and Teams fields of the alert can be specified/updated in the following ways:
- While creating the alert: While the alert is getting created, the recipients and teams that were specified within the request content are added to the alert if they exist.
* Escalations: When the specified time for an escalation rule comes, OpsGenie adds the specified recipients of the escalation rule to the alert automatically.
- User actions: "Add Recipient" and "Add Team" actions add new recipients/teams to the alert if the given one exists, whenever a user executes these actions.
Users gain visibility for an alert when a configuration that they are a part of (a schedule, a team, an escalation or a group) or the user itself is added as a recipient. If a team is added for an alert, all members of the team gains visibility. The recipients that are added during the creation of the alert are called immediate recipients. Similarly, the teams that are added during the creation of the alert are called immediate teams.
If there is any specified immediate recipient within the alert content during the alert creation, the corresponding users from the immediate recipients will be added to alert to be notified. On the other hand, if there is any specified immediate teams within the alert content:
- If there is no immediate recipient, first routing rule of the team whose alert based conditions and time restrictions are satisfied will be used to route the alert. Please note: that a team routing rule can route the alert to an escalation, to a schedule or to no one.
- All member users of the team will only gain visibility for the alert and the escalation of the team will not be triggered, if there is also at least one immediate recipient.